I chose to reshare the post again to express my genuine concern for Retailers and how this website can help navigate these turbulent waters. We are not promising instant gratification but if retailers do take our tips and observations into consideration they will be able to survive the current retail apocalypse.
THIS SECTION WAS WRITTEN ON JANUARY 19 OF 2019
From January 1st of 2017 to December 31st of 2017
Housakicks sent 26,375 clicks to eBay in 2017 from 320,426 impressions, $67,296,74 in sales recorded for 559 items ordered. The conversion rate was 2.12% and the average item ordered cost about $120.39.
From January 1st of 2018 to December 31st of 2018
Housakicks sent 23757 clicks to eBay in 2018 from 130897 impressions, $38657.59 in sales recorded for 324 items ordered. The conversion rate was 1.36 % and the average item ordered cost about $119.31.
Now let me present my argument and then throw the ball in your court.
Some may say that 415,323 impressions, 50,133 clicks for a total of $105,853 for 2 consecutive years isn’t impressive but they will be completely wrong because Housakicks isn’t under eBay’s payroll, these are affiliate numbers. You need to understand how these numbers were achieved.
I wrote about 60 Real vs Fake posts in the space of two years and those are the majority of the posts on which eBay’s products are featured. Basically when I write those posts, I provide the readers with a list of eBay stockists carrying authentic sneakers and that’s how the 50,133 clicks for $105,853 were achieved. Now brace yourself for the next thing I will show you:
2052 posts= 2052+ sneaker related articles
(124) pages= 124 sneaker related pages
7 sections= 7 sneaker related sections
an online shop
A total number of 800 sneaker related videos via Youtube
Three banner ad spots per page
Based on the numbers above, eBay is only utilizing:
60/ [(2052]=.029 or 2.92% of the site’s posts
Hence 2.92% of the network posts were responsible for 415323 impressions, 50,133 clicks for a total of $105,853. Let me show you something else
60/ (2052 x5))= 60/23310=.00584 or .584% of the entire network
.58% of the entire network was responsible for 415323 impressions, 50,133 clicks for a total of $105,853
Imagine if 100% of the network was under eBay’s payroll i.e. every single post, sponsored post, every single page, every ad spot, every video, every shop product and every section. How much more sales do you think will be recorded?
The conversion rate is 2% so for every 100 clicks, 2 people will be making a purchase. Now let’s see what a regular physical store typically does: